Swell vs Cloutly
Both columns come from each company's own website. "Not published" means we could not find it there.
| Score | 2.5/5 (12 of 24 checks) | 2.7/5 (13 of 24 checks) |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Review, survey and feedback software for multi-location healthcare groups, with a med spa page | Per-location review request and monitoring software with a free trial |
| Starting price | Not published | Not published |
| How it charges | Per location, products sold individually or bundled | Monthly or yearly subscription per location |
| Setup fee | Not published | Not published |
| Extra costs | Not published | Extra SMS credits are sold as pay-as-you-go packs; GST is added at checkout |
| Minimum term | Initial term set in the order form | One month on monthly plans; yearly plans are paid 12 months upfront |
| Cancellation | Fees are non-refundable; either party may terminate for a material breach not cured within 30 days of written notice | Monthly plans can be cancelled at any time, effective at the end of the paid month; 30-day money-back guarantee for new self-serve customers |
| Free trial | Yes | Yes |
| Free demo or audit | Yes | Yes |
| Coverage | United States | Not published |
| Founded | Not published | Not published |
| Support | Phone, Email, Chat | |
| Support hours | Not published | Not published |
| Pricing transparency | 2.0 | 3.0 |
| Terms and commitment | 3.0 | 5.0 |
| Med spa fit | 3.0 | 0.0 |
| Proof and track record | 1.0 | 2.0 |
| Support and onboarding | 3.8 | 3.8 |
The short version
Swell sells online reputation management, patient and employee surveys, listings management and ticketing to multi-location healthcare groups, and has a med spa page. Cloutly sells review campaigns, monitoring, widgets, two-way texting and listings management per location to local businesses, with med spas among the healthcare types it serves. Swell publishes a HIPAA statement, a med spa feature set and phone, email and chat support; Cloutly publishes its plan inclusions, month-to-month cancellation, a money-back window and data-export terms. Neither page we checked shows a dollar price; both offer a free trial.
Pricing
Both charge per location. Swell sells its products individually or bundled, and its pricing page lists one option set: unlimited users, 3000 monthly text messages, unlimited email sends, reporting, US-based phone, email and chat support, a 30-minute setup and onboarding, and an EHR/PMS integration.
Cloutly sells Starter, Essentials and Growth plans per location, plus an Enterprise tier priced after a pilot. The plans list 50, 100 and 200 SMS credits a month, stepping up from review QR codes and a website review display to two-way SMS, video testimonials, a staff leaderboard and listings management. Extra SMS credits are sold as pay-as-you-go packs, and GST is added at checkout. The plan prices did not appear on the page we checked; ask for them before comparing totals.
Neither site publishes a starting price.
Contract and cancellation
Swell's terms set the initial term in the Subscription Order Form, say all fees are non-refundable, and let either party terminate for a material breach not cured within 30 days of written notice. Its site does not state a month-to-month option.
Cloutly's monthly plans run for successive one-month periods and renew automatically until cancelled, and yearly plans are paid 12 months upfront. Monthly plans can be cancelled at any time, effective at the end of the paid month, with a 30-day money-back guarantee for new self-serve customers. Cloutly's terms say customer data can be exported at any time as CSV, and on request for 30 days after termination. Swell's site does not state how you export your data.
Built for med spas
Swell has a med spa page aimed at multi-location aesthetic groups. It lists surveys by visit type, feedback tied to the specific injector or esthetician, and review requests triggered by procedure code or appointment type. It names eClinicalWorks, athenahealth, Dentrix, Open Dental, Ortho2 Edge and NexHealth, and says 100+ more. Its site states it is HIPAA compliant and SOC 2 Type II certified. Its published case study result is Utah Orthopaedic Specialists at 222% more monthly reviews, and its site does not name a med spa client.
Cloutly lists med spas next to dentists, doctors and physios, but has no med spa page and its site does not list med spa specific features. It connects to 39 review sites, and its named clients are Swimart and Bishops Cuts / Color. Its site does not state a HIPAA position.
Which one to look at first
Look at Swell first if you run several locations and want review requests triggered by provider, procedure code or appointment type, a stated HIPAA position, and phone, email and chat support.
Look at Cloutly first if you run one location or a small group and want a self-serve plan you can cancel monthly, a money-back window, and written terms for taking your data with you.
Ask both for a written price for your location count, and how patient information moves through the product and what happens to it when you leave. See the rest of the field in reputation management.
Scores count what each vendor publishes, not how well it performs. How we score.
Questions and answers
Do Swell or Cloutly publish their prices?
Swell prices per location and sells its products individually or bundled, with no amounts on its pricing page. Cloutly lists Starter, Essentials and Growth plans per location plus an Enterprise tier priced after a pilot, but the plan prices did not appear on the page we checked. Ask both for a written quote for your location count.
Can I run either one month to month?
Cloutly's monthly plans run for successive one-month periods and can be cancelled at any time, effective at the end of the paid month, and new self-serve customers get a 30-day money-back guarantee. Swell's terms set the initial term in the Subscription Order Form and say all fees are non-refundable. Swell's site does not state a month-to-month option.
Do Swell and Cloutly say they are HIPAA compliant?
Swell's site states it is HIPAA compliant and SOC 2 Type II certified. Cloutly's site does not state a HIPAA position. Ask each vendor for a signed BAA before you route patient names or appointment details through either tool.
Do Swell and Cloutly let me take my data with me?
Cloutly's terms say customer data can be exported at any time as CSV, and on request for 30 days after termination. Swell's site does not state how you export your data. Put the question to both before you sign.