Candela vs Fotona
Both columns come from each company's own website. "Not published" means we could not find it there.
| Score | 2.3/5 (8 of 15 checks) | 2.2/5 (6 of 15 checks) |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Maker of aesthetic lasers, IPL and RF microneedling devices for medical practices and med spas | Maker of medical and aesthetic laser systems including SP Dynamis, StarWalker and TimeWalker |
| Starting price | Not published | Not published |
| How it charges | Not published | Not published |
| Setup fee | Not published | Not published |
| Extra costs | Not published | Not published |
| Minimum term | Not published | Not published |
| Cancellation | Devices carry a limited warranty; ServicePlus Protection Plans cover service after it expires. Warranty length and return terms are not stated. | Newly installed devices have a one-year warranty from the installation date covering all repair costs; service agreements extend cover for a full year. Return terms are not stated. |
| Free trial | Not published | Not published |
| Free demo or audit | Not published | Yes |
| Coverage | Nearly 100 countries, through its own offices and distributors | Teams in over 60 countries; customers in 100 countries |
| Founded | 1970 | 1964 |
| Support | Phone, Email | Phone, Contact form |
| Support hours | Not published | Monday through Friday, 8am to 5pm CST |
| Pricing transparency | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Terms and commitment | 2.5 | 5.0 |
| Med spa fit | 5.0 | 0.0 |
| Proof and track record | 2.0 | 2.0 |
| Support and onboarding | 2.5 | 5.0 |
The short version
Candela and Fotona both make laser systems, and neither publishes a price, a pricing model or a minimum term. Fotona puts three things in writing that Candela's site does not: a one-year warranty from installation, weekday support hours and a free demo. Candela advertises 0% APR and finance options, which Fotona's site does not mention, and Candela's site covers medical aesthetic devices only.
Pricing
Neither site lists a device price or states how it charges, so a written quote is the first step with either company. Candela's site advertises 0% APR and finance options with a limited-time bundle offer. Fotona's site does not state financing options.
Both list ongoing service cover separate from the device: Candela names ServicePlus protection plans and Fotona names service agreements.
Contract and cancellation
Fotona states a warranty period: newly installed devices carry a one-year warranty from the installation date that covers all repair costs, and a service agreement extends cover for a full year.
Candela's site describes a limited warranty followed by ServicePlus protection plans, and does not state the warranty length. Neither site states return terms or a minimum term.
On support, Fotona staffs its lines Monday through Friday, 8am to 5pm CST, by phone and contact form. Candela lists phone and email contacts and does not state support hours.
Built for med spas
Candela presents itself as a medical aesthetic device company and lists laser, IPL and RF microneedling lines: Gentle Pro series, Nordlys, Matrix, PicoWay and Vbeam. Its clinical material names Precision Skin Institute in Florida (L. Clark-Loeser, MD). Training is offered on site and on demand, plus advanced and online training.
Fotona describes improving medicine through energy-based innovation and lists the SP Dynamis Max, SP Dynamis Pro, StarWalker MaQX, StarFormer Pro, TimeWalker Fotona4D Pro, TimeWalker IntimaLaser, LightWalker MAX and LightWalker AT-S systems. Its site offers a free demo and does not name a client. After purchase it names clinical trainings, field engineers and educational opportunities, with no steps or timeline given.
Neither site publishes a case study with a stated result or third-party reviews.
Which one to look at first
Look at Fotona first if you want the warranty period, the support hours and a demo in writing before you commit.
Look at Candela first if you want a maker whose site covers medical aesthetic devices only and that advertises finance options. Ask it to state the warranty length before you sign.
With either one, ask for a device quote in writing and for the return terms. See the rest of the category in equipment suppliers.
Scores count what each vendor publishes, not how well it performs. How we score.
Questions and answers
Do Candela or Fotona publish device prices?
Neither site lists a price or states how it charges. You would need a quote from each company. Candela's site advertises 0% APR and finance options with a limited-time bundle offer. Fotona's site does not state financing options.
What warranty does each maker give?
Fotona states that newly installed devices carry a one-year warranty from the installation date covering all repair costs, and that a service agreement extends cover for a full year. Candela describes a limited warranty followed by ServicePlus protection plans and does not state the warranty length.
Do Candela or Fotona offer a demo or a trial?
Fotona's site offers a free demo. Candela's site does not state a demo offer. Neither site states a free trial.
What support and training does each publish?
Fotona staffs its support lines Monday through Friday, 8am to 5pm CST, by phone and contact form, and lists clinical trainings, field engineers and educational opportunities after purchase. Candela lists phone and email contacts and does not state support hours. Candela's training is on site and on demand, plus advanced and online training.