MedispaCover vs Associated Skin Care Professionals (ASCP)
Both columns come from each company's own website. "Not published" means we could not find it there.
| Score | 3.6/5 (13 of 19 checks) | 2.8/5 (10 of 19 checks) |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Malpractice insurance agency for med spas, injectors and wellness clinics | Membership association for estheticians that includes liability insurance |
| Starting price | From $1,800/yr | $259/yr |
| How it charges | Annual premium quoted per practice, based on treatments, practitioner credentials, claims history and revenue | Annual or monthly membership that includes insurance; advanced esthetics insurance billed separately |
| Setup fee | Not published | No fee for additional insured endorsements |
| Extra costs | Not published | $10 service charge if advanced esthetics insurance is paid in quarterly installments |
| Minimum term | Policies can be cancelled after 90 days | Membership runs for 12 months; monthly payment available |
| Cancellation | Cancel at any time after 90 days; at least 25% of the policy cost is kept; refunds depend on the carrier, the policy and time elapsed | Not published |
| Free trial | Not published | Not published |
| Free demo or audit | Yes | Not published |
| Coverage | All 50 US states | All 50 US states |
| Founded | 2001 | Not published |
| Support | Phone, Email | Phone, Email |
| Support hours | Not published | Not published |
| Pricing transparency | 3.8 | 5.0 |
| Terms and commitment | 5.0 | 1.7 |
| Med spa fit | 3.8 | 3.8 |
| Proof and track record | 3.0 | 0.0 |
| Support and onboarding | 1.7 | 3.3 |
The short version
MedispaCover is an insurance agency that places malpractice and liability policies for med spas, injectors and wellness clinics, with premiums quoted per practice and starting premiums published by practice type. Associated Skin Care Professionals (ASCP) is a membership association for licensed estheticians whose membership includes individual liability cover at a published price. Both publish prices and say coverage is valid in all 50 states. MedispaCover publishes its cancellation and refund terms; ASCP's site does not state them.
Pricing
MedispaCover publishes starting premiums by practice type: from $1,800–$2,500/yr for a new or start-up med spa, from $5,000/yr for multi-clinic and multi-location groups, from $4,000–$7,000/yr for specialty high risk (Tier 4), and from $5,000–$7,500/yr for live stem cell, regenerative therapy and plastic surgery (Tier 5). The final premium is quoted per practice, based on treatments, practitioner credentials, claims history and revenue. Its site does not state a setup fee.
ASCP publishes a membership price of $259/yr or $23/mo, which includes professional, general/premises and product liability cover at $2 million per occurrence and $6 million individual aggregate per policy year. Optional extras are priced: business personal property insurance at $99/yr for $10,000 of coverage or $299/yr for $30,000, and advanced esthetics insurance for laser hair removal at $1,191 Premier or $991 Elite, billed separately by Allied Professionals Insurance Company. There is no fee for additional insured endorsements. Paying the advanced esthetics premium in quarterly installments adds a $10 service charge.
Contract and cancellation
MedispaCover's FAQ says specialty insurers let you cancel a policy at any time after 90 days, that at least 25% of the policy cost is kept, and that refunds depend on the carrier, the policy and the time elapsed. Payment plans run through a premium financing partner: 25% down, then monthly payments, with no credit check.
ASCP membership runs for 12 months, with a monthly payment option at $23/mo. Its site does not state cancellation or refund terms, so ask what happens if you cancel mid-year.
Built for med spas
MedispaCover lists solo providers, single locations and multi-location groups among the practices it insures. Its published coverage specifics include injectables, laser and energy devices, hormone and pellet therapy, IV therapy and ketamine clinics, and PRP and regenerative therapy. General liability, cyber liability and multi-location and franchise programs sit alongside the malpractice cover. It names three clients on its site: City Hydration, Caring Medical Florida and Center for Healing Arts. Its site says it was established in 2001 and does not state a headquarters or how soon coverage starts.
ASCP sells to licensed estheticians, including one working in a med spa, and coverage is issued per member. Advanced esthetics insurance covers laser hair removal, IPL, microblading and permanent makeup. Coverage begins the day after ASCP receives and processes a completed application. It lists its headquarters in Golden, CO and does not state a founding year. Its site does not name clients. Both list phone and email support; neither states support hours.
Which one to look at first
Look at MedispaCover first if you are insuring a med spa business or a team, want cyber liability or multi-location and franchise programs alongside malpractice cover, or offer hormone, IV or regenerative treatments.
Look at ASCP first if you are a licensed esthetician who wants individual liability cover at a published price, with continuing education and member benefits included.
Neither site publishes a third-party review profile or a case study result, so ask each for a reference. Compare the rest of the category in insurance providers.
Scores count what each vendor publishes, not how well it performs. How we score.
Questions and answers
Which is cheaper, MedispaCover or ASCP?
ASCP membership is a published price, $259/yr or $23/mo, for a licensed esthetician. MedispaCover publishes starting premiums for a practice: from $1,800–$2,500/yr for a new or start-up med spa, and from $5,000–$7,500/yr for live stem cell, regenerative therapy and plastic surgery (Tier 5). MedispaCover then builds the final premium from the practice's treatments, practitioner credentials, claims history and revenue.
Can I cancel MedispaCover or ASCP coverage?
MedispaCover's FAQ says you can cancel a policy at any time after 90 days, that at least 25% of the policy cost is kept, and that refunds depend on the carrier, the policy and the time elapsed. ASCP membership runs for 12 months, and its site does not state cancellation or refund terms. Ask ASCP what happens if you cancel mid-year before you join.
Do MedispaCover or ASCP cover laser treatments?
MedispaCover lists laser and energy device coverage among its published specifics, including CO2 lasers, radiofrequency, IPL and body contouring. ASCP's base membership is esthetician liability cover; laser hair removal, IPL, microblading and permanent makeup fall under a separate advanced esthetics policy, a supplement to the member liability policy. The site prices its laser hair removal plan at $1,191 Premier or $991 Elite, billed separately by Allied Professionals Insurance Company.
Does either offer a free consultation or a free trial?
MedispaCover says you can schedule a free consultation. Neither site states a free trial, and ASCP's site does not state a consultation option. ASCP does publish that coverage begins the day after it receives and processes your completed application.