Hands On Trade Association vs CM&F Group
Both columns come from each company's own website. "Not published" means we could not find it there.
| Score | 2.9/5 (11 of 19 checks) | 2.4/5 (9 of 19 checks) |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Membership association selling liability insurance to estheticians and other touch professionals | Professional liability insurance broker for healthcare providers, with a med spa group policy |
| Starting price | $190/yr | Not published |
| How it charges | Annual membership that includes insurance | Quote only (online quote) |
| Setup fee | Not published | Not published |
| Extra costs | Not published | Not published |
| Minimum term | Not published | Not published |
| Cancellation | No refunds; premiums are 100% minimum earned | Cancel by phone or by email, stating the cancellation date |
| Free trial | Not published | Not published |
| Free demo or audit | Not published | Yes |
| Coverage | Not published | All 50 US states and Washington D.C. |
| Founded | 2000 | 1919 |
| Support | Phone, Contact form | Phone, Email, Chat |
| Support hours | Monday to Friday, 7:30 AM to 3:30 PM Pacific Time | 9am to 5pm EST |
| Pricing transparency | 3.8 | 1.3 |
| Terms and commitment | 1.7 | 3.3 |
| Med spa fit | 2.5 | 2.5 |
| Proof and track record | 2.0 | 1.0 |
| Support and onboarding | 5.0 | 5.0 |
The short version
Hands On Trade Association is a membership association selling annual liability policies online to independent estheticians, cosmetologists and other touch professionals, with its prices published. CM&F Group is a professional liability insurance broker selling malpractice cover to over 200 healthcare professions, including a group policy for med spas, with pricing from an online quote. Hands On Trade publishes its prices and support hours; its site does not state which states it covers. CM&F Group publishes its coverage limits, policy features and the states it writes insurance in, but not its premiums. Neither site names a med spa client or publishes a case study result.
Pricing
Hands On Trade publishes an annual membership at $190/yr for estheticians, makeup artists and cosmetologists, which includes general professional liability (malpractice) and general liability (slip-and-fall). Its microneedling standard liability insurance is $240/yr and requires an active cosmetologist or esthetician license. Its site does not state a setup fee.
CM&F Group's pricing model is quote only: its site says you get an immediate quote on screen in as little as five minutes. Its site does not publish a starting price, plans or premiums, and does not state a setup fee either.
So the published figures describe different things: a known annual price from Hands On Trade, and an on-screen quote from CM&F Group that you only see once you ask.
Contract and cancellation
Neither site states a minimum term or a month-to-month option. Hands On Trade's refund policy states that no refunds are offered and that premiums are 100% minimum earned and non-refundable. CM&F Group's FAQ says you cancel by phone or by email, stating the cancellation date; its site does not state whether any part of the premium is refundable.
Built for med spas
CM&F Group publishes a med spa malpractice page describing a group policy that covers the business and its clinicians, with supervising physician coverage, medical director coverage and general liability available as add-ons. It writes insurance in all 50 states and Washington D.C., and lists limits up to $1 million per claim and $6 million aggregate, consent to settle, license defense coverage and additional insureds added at no fee.
Hands On Trade lists insurance for independent estheticians, with coverage for chemical peels and laser hair removal for a licensed esthetician, and microneedling cover that includes radiofrequency microneedling and excludes PRP. It has no med spa page, and its site does not state which states it covers.
Which one to look at first
Look at Hands On Trade Association first if you are an independent esthetician who wants a published annual price, instant online sign-up with a certificate by email, and support by phone or contact form Monday to Friday, 7:30 AM to 3:30 PM Pacific Time, and note that its site states PRP microneedling is excluded.
Look at CM&F Group first if you run a med spa and want a group policy covering the business and its clinicians, with medical director or supervising physician cover, support by phone, email or chat from 9am to 5pm EST, and you are comfortable getting your price from an on-screen quote.
Whichever you approach, ask for the coverage limits, the exclusions for the procedures you offer, and the refund position in writing. The rest of the category is in insurance providers.
Scores count what each vendor publishes, not how well it performs. How we score.
Questions and answers
Which is cheaper, Hands On Trade Association or CM&F Group?
Hands On Trade publishes its prices: $190 a year for esthetician, makeup artist and cosmetologist membership, and $240 a year for its microneedling policy. CM&F Group publishes no premiums. Its pricing model is quote only, with an immediate quote on screen, so get the quote and price any add-ons before you compare totals.
Do Hands On Trade and CM&F Group require a contract?
Neither site states a minimum term or a month-to-month option. Hands On Trade sells an annual membership and its refund policy states that no refunds are offered and premiums are 100% minimum earned. CM&F Group says you cancel by phone or by email, stating the cancellation date, and its site does not state whether any premium is refundable.
Does either one cover microneedling or PRP?
Hands On Trade sells microneedling coverage at $240 a year, including radiofrequency microneedling, requires an active cosmetologist or esthetician license for it, and states that PRP microneedling is excluded. CM&F Group publishes a med spa group policy that covers the business and its clinicians; ask whether microneedling and PRP are covered under it.
Which one sells to med spas?
CM&F Group publishes a med spa malpractice page describing a group policy that covers the business and its clinicians, with supervising physician, medical director and general liability cover as add-ons. Hands On Trade sells to independent estheticians and other touch professionals and has an esthetician page, not a med spa page.