Sciton vs The Laser Agent
Both columns come from each company's own website. "Not published" means we could not find it there.
The Laser Agent | ||
|---|---|---|
| Score | 1.8/5 (6 of 15 checks) | 1.8/5 (5 of 15 checks) |
| What it is | Employee-owned maker of medical and aesthetic laser and light systems built in Palo Alto | Dealer in certified pre-owned and refurbished cosmetic, medical and aesthetic lasers |
| Starting price | Not published | Not published |
| How it charges | Not published | Not published |
| Setup fee | Not published | Not published |
| Extra costs | Not published | Not published |
| Minimum term | Not published | Not published |
| Cancellation | Service by non-authorized companies voids the manufacturer warranty; warranty length and return terms are not stated | Standard 30-day warranty on every device, with parts covered during that period; return terms are not stated |
| Free trial | Not published | Not published |
| Free demo or audit | Not published | Yes |
| Coverage | Direct sales offices in the United States, Japan, Australia and the United Kingdom, with distributors in more than 45 countries | United States (nationwide) |
| Founded | 1997 | Not published |
| Support | Phone, Contact form | Phone, Email |
| Support hours | Not published | Not published |
| Pricing transparency | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Terms and commitment | 2.5 | 5.0 |
| Med spa fit | 2.5 | 1.3 |
| Proof and track record | 2.0 | 1.0 |
| Support and onboarding | 2.5 | 2.5 |
The short version
Sciton is a manufacturer that builds new laser and light systems and sells them direct and through distributors. The Laser Agent is a dealer that buys, refurbishes and resells certified pre-owned lasers. Neither site publishes a price, a pricing model, a minimum term, a named client or a case study result. The Laser Agent publishes a warranty length, a video demo, financing and free shipping. Sciton publishes its founding year, its founders and an ISO 13485 certification, and does not state a warranty length, a demo or financing.
Pricing
Neither vendor publishes a starting price or a pricing model.
Sciton lists its platforms, JOULE, mJOULE, mJOULE 1064, BBL HEROic and HALO TRIBRID, with no prices. Its site does not state financing, a demo or a free trial, so a buyer needs a quote to learn the total.
The Laser Agent also publishes no prices, but it publishes how you can pay: financing through a finance partner with a one-page application, under which equipment, shipping, warranty, accessories and training may be included. It also offers trade and upgrade.
Contract and cancellation
Neither site states a minimum term or a contract length.
The Laser Agent states a standard 30-day warranty on every device, with parts covered during that period. Sciton's site does not state a warranty length; the warranty statement it does publish is that service by non-authorized companies voids the manufacturer warranty.
Neither site states its return terms. Ask each for the return window, who pays return shipping and what happens if a unit arrives not as described, in writing before you send money.
Built for med spas
The Laser Agent's site says it serves med spas, dermatologists, aesthetic clinics and medical practices nationwide, with free shipping and installation support. Its team page names president Drew S. and vice president Deon S. Support is by phone and email. Training support for machine operation may be available; the site gives no steps or timeline.
Sciton was founded in 1997 and names its founders, Jim Hobart, PhD and Dan Negus, PhD, on its company page. Its site says every system is built at its Palo Alto, California headquarters and that it is ISO 13485 certified. It lists direct sales offices in the United States, Japan, Australia and the United Kingdom, and distributor partners in more than 45 countries. Support is by phone and contact form, and it offers clinical trainings, preceptorships and owner events, with no steps or timeline given.
Neither site names a client or publishes a case study result, and neither states support hours.
Which one to look at first
Look at Sciton first if you want a new system from the manufacturer, want training through clinical trainings and preceptorships, and are ready to ask for the warranty length and the price in writing.
Look at The Laser Agent first if you want a certified pre-owned unit, a stated 30-day warranty, a video demo of the actual unit before you pay, and financing through a finance partner.
Whichever you approach, get the total price, the warranty length and the return terms in writing before you commit. The rest of the category is in equipment suppliers.
Scores count what each vendor publishes, not how well it performs. How we score.
Questions and answers
Which is cheaper, Sciton or The Laser Agent?
Neither site publishes a price. Sciton sells new laser and light systems and states no prices, pricing model, financing or demo. The Laser Agent sells certified pre-owned and refurbished lasers, also states no prices, and publishes financing through a finance partner with a one-page application. Ask both for a written quote on the exact unit you would buy.
What warranty does each publish?
The Laser Agent states a standard 30-day warranty on every device, with parts covered during that period. Sciton's site does not state a warranty length; the warranty statement it does publish is that service by non-authorized companies voids the manufacturer warranty. Ask Sciton for the length and what it covers, in writing.
Can you see a unit before you buy?
The Laser Agent offers a video demo of the actual unit before purchase. Sciton's site does not state a demo option, so ask what it offers before you commit to a system.
Do both sell to med spas?
The Laser Agent's site says it serves med spas, dermatologists, aesthetic clinics and medical practices nationwide. Sciton's site describes its products as medical and aesthetic lasers. Neither site names a med spa client or publishes a case study result, so ask each for a reference practice of your size.