BoomCloud vs Cherry
Both columns come from each company's own website. "Not published" means we could not find it there.
| Score | 4.0/5 (15 of 19 checks) | 4.0/5 (15 of 19 checks) |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Membership-plan and recurring-billing software with a med spa edition | Patient payment plans for med spas and other practices, paid for by a per-transaction merchant fee |
| Starting price | $197/mo plus $4.50 per member | Merchant fee from 1.7% per financed transaction |
| How it charges | Monthly subscription plus a fee per active member | Merchant fee on each financed transaction, deducted before payout; varies by plan type and pricing settings |
| Setup fee | None | None |
| Extra costs | Not published | Not published |
| Minimum term | No long-term contract | Not published |
| Cancellation | Cancel anytime; the practice keeps its members if it leaves | Patient refunds are processed from the provider account; no extra fee for refunds, and merchant fees are prorated on partial refunds. Provider agreement termination terms were not found. |
| Free trial | Yes | Not published |
| Free demo or audit | Not published | Yes |
| Coverage | Not published | Not published |
| Founded | 2014 | Not published |
| Support | Phone, Email, Support ticket, Live support call | Phone, Email, Chat |
| Support hours | Not published | Monday to Friday 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM ET, Saturday 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM ET |
| Pricing transparency | 5.0 | 3.8 |
| Terms and commitment | 5.0 | 3.3 |
| Med spa fit | 2.5 | 5.0 |
| Proof and track record | 4.0 | 3.0 |
| Support and onboarding | 3.3 | 5.0 |
The short version
BoomCloud sells software for running a practice's own membership plan: the practice builds the tiers, members enroll online, and the software bills recurring dues. Cherry offers payment plans at checkout: the patient applies through a link, Cherry pays the practice and then collects from the patient. BoomCloud publishes a monthly subscription plus a per-member fee and states there is no long-term contract. Cherry publishes a merchant fee per financed transaction and states there is no setup fee or monthly fee, but does not state a minimum term.
Pricing
BoomCloud charges a monthly subscription plus a fee per active member. Its plans are Basic at $197/mo + $4.50 per member/mo, Pro at $397/mo + $3.50 per member/mo, and Groups at a custom price with volume-based member pricing and multi-location roll-up reporting. Its pricing page lists a 30-day free trial, no setup fee and cancel anytime. Its site does not state extra costs.
Cherry's help center says it is free to sign up, with no setup fee or monthly fee. The cost is a merchant fee on each financed transaction, deducted before payout, starting at 1.7% to 1.9% and varying by plan type and pricing settings. Patient plans run from $35 to $65,000 with terms between 1 and 60 months. Cherry says the provider is paid within 2-3 business days, and that it handles repayment and takes the credit risk.
Contract and cancellation
BoomCloud's pricing page says there is no long-term contract, that you can cancel anytime and that you keep every member if you leave.
Cherry's site does not state a minimum term for providers or how the provider agreement ends. It does publish refund handling: patient refunds are processed from the provider account, there are no additional fees for processing refunds, and merchant fees are prorated on partial refunds.
Built for med spas
BoomCloud lists med spas as one of many industries, alongside dental, optometry and veterinary. Its med spa page describes membership tiers for med spa treatments, an online enrollment page, and a recurring revenue dashboard with declined-card reports. Its case studies and named clients are all dental practices, and its site names no med spa client.
Cherry names med spas among the markets it says it is widely used by, and has a medical-aesthetics page. That page describes a direct integration with Allē payment plans, the loyalty program for Botox and Juvéderm, and 6 months of 0% APR for qualifying patients on eligible Allergan Aesthetics treatments at no cost to the practice. It names Sea of Beauty Med Spa in a testimonial and Bodify CoolSculpting in a case study of over $1 million with Cherry.
Which one to look at first
They do different jobs, so start from the problem.
Look at BoomCloud first if you want to run your own membership program: a published subscription price, a 30-day free trial, no setup fee, no long-term contract, and a statement that you keep your members if you leave.
Look at Cherry first if you want patients to spread the cost of a treatment without running a plan yourself. It states there is no setup or monthly fee, pays the provider within 2-3 business days, and publishes support hours of Monday to Friday 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM ET and Saturday 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM ET.
Between these two, only BoomCloud publishes a free trial, and only Cherry publishes a free demo and its support hours. BoomCloud lists phone, email, tickets and live support calls but does not state its support hours. See every option in patient financing.
Scores count what each vendor publishes, not how well it performs. How we score.
Questions and answers
Which is cheaper, BoomCloud or Cherry?
They charge in different ways, so it depends on your numbers. BoomCloud publishes Basic at $197/mo + $4.50 per member/mo and Pro at $397/mo + $3.50 per member/mo. Cherry states there is no setup fee or monthly fee, and a merchant fee on each financed transaction starting at 1.7% to 1.9%, varying by plan type and pricing settings. Model your member count and financed volume against both.
Do BoomCloud and Cherry require a long-term contract?
BoomCloud's pricing page says there is no long-term contract and you can cancel anytime, keeping every member if you leave. Cherry's site does not state a minimum term for providers or how the provider agreement ends. Ask Cherry for those terms in writing before you sign.
Which one is built for med spas?
Cherry names med spas among the markets it says it is widely used by, and its medical-aesthetics page describes an Allē integration and 6 months of 0% APR for qualifying patients on eligible Allergan Aesthetics treatments. BoomCloud has a med spa page but sells to many industries, and the case studies it publishes are dental practices. Both serve other industries too.
Who carries the credit risk, BoomCloud or Cherry?
Cherry's site says it handles repayment directly with the patient and takes the credit risk. With BoomCloud's software the practice runs the plan and the software bills members on a recurring basis. Ask each provider what happens on a non-payment.