Training & Certification · updated Oct 5, 2026

American Academy of Facial Esthetics (AAFE) vs Empire Medical Training

Both columns come from each company's own website. "Not published" means we could not find it there.

American Academy of Facial Esthetics (AAFE)
Empire Medical Training
Score3.0/5 (11 of 19 checks)2.9/5 (11 of 19 checks)
What it isLive-patient injectable and facial esthetics courses for licensed healthcare professionalsCME workshops in aesthetics, anti-aging, pain management and practice business for clinicians
Starting price$1,797 per course$799 per course
How it chargesPer course, or multi-course packages with optional payment plansPer course, fixed bundles, course pathways or yearly memberships
Setup feeNot publishedNot published
Extra costs$299 per course rescheduling fee within 10 days of the course$200 rescheduling fee for transfers less than 15 days before a workshop
Minimum termNot publishedNot published
CancellationRefund can be requested within 30 days of registration if on-demand coursework has not started and no live date is selected, minus a $997 cancellation feeFull refund only within 24 hours of purchase; after that sales are final, with transfers to a future date allowed. Cancellations must be in writing.
Free trialNot publishedNot published
Free demo or auditYesNot published
CoverageUnited States, at training centers in several cities, plus online coursesUnited States, in-person workshops at multiple locations, plus virtual and on-demand
Founded20071998
SupportPhonePhone, Email
Support hoursNot publishedMonday to Friday, 8 AM to 8 PM EST
Pricing transparency3.83.8
Terms and commitment3.31.7
Med spa fit2.53.8
Proof and track record2.02.0
Support and onboarding3.33.3

The short version

American Academy of Facial Esthetics (AAFE) sells live-patient injectable and facial esthetics courses to licensed providers, per course or in multi-course packages that include a premium membership. Empire Medical Training sells in-person, virtual and on-demand CME workshops per course, in bundles, in course pathways or as yearly memberships. Empire publishes the lower advertised starting price for Botox training, a page written for med spa directors, and weekday support hours; AAFE offers a free webinar, a listing in its provider directory, and a 30 day refund request window with a $997 cancellation fee. Neither site states a minimum term.

Pricing

AAFE publishes a starting price of $1,797 per course. Its packages are Flex 2 at $3,297 for any 2 courses, Flex 3 at $4,797 for any 3 courses, Flex 4 at $5,997, and Flex Elite at $9,997 for any 9 courses. Every package lists a Premium AAFE Membership.

Empire advertises Botox training starting at $799 per course. Its pricing page lists single courses starting at $1,799, bundles starting at $3,499, course pathways starting at $3,499, and yearly memberships starting at $7,799 for unlimited access to every course in the tier.

Neither site publishes a setup fee or a free trial. AAFE offers registration for a free webinar; Empire's site does not state a demo or audit option. Both publish payment plans: AAFE on multi-course packages for qualified participants, Empire for all memberships and most bundles.

Contract and cancellation

Neither site states a minimum term or a month-to-month option.

AAFE allows a refund request within 30 days of registration if you have not started the on-demand coursework and have not selected a live course date, minus a $997 cancellation fee.

Empire allows a full refund only within 24 hours of purchase. After that, sales are final, and transfers to a future date are allowed. Cancellations must be in writing.

Both publish a rescheduling fee. AAFE charges $299 per course if you reschedule within 10 days of the course date. Empire charges a $200 rescheduling fee for transfers less than 15 days before a workshop, subject to availability.

Built for med spas

AAFE describes its training for healthcare practices, esthetic practices and medical spas. Its packages list medspa business training, injectables supplied for live-patient courses, and a listing in the AAFE provider directory. You complete online modules before the live-patient hands-on session. Its site does not publish a page written for med spa owners.

Empire has a page written for medical spa directors and aesthetic clinic owners, listing Botox and dermal filler workshops, PDO thread training, cosmetic laser training, business and marketing workshops, and staff training across a clinic. Its workshops run in person at 30+ locations, plus virtual and on-demand courses. Its site does not state an onboarding process.

Neither site names a client or publishes a case study result, and neither links a third-party review profile. AAFE lists phone contact and does not state support hours. Empire lists phone and email, Monday to Friday, 8 AM to 8 PM EST.

Which one to look at first

Look at AAFE first if you want live-patient injectable training with injectables supplied and a directory listing, and can work within a refund window that closes once you pick a live course date.

Look at Empire Medical Training first if you want the lower advertised starting price for Botox training, a catalog of 60+ courses in aesthetics, functional medicine, pain management and business, and to train staff across a clinic.

Price your course count before you compare totals: Empire's memberships start at $7,799, and AAFE's Flex Elite package is $9,997. See every option in training and certification.

Scores count what each vendor publishes, not how well it performs. How we score.

Questions and answers

Which is cheaper, AAFE or Empire Medical Training?

On published starting prices, Empire. Its site advertises Botox training starting at $799 per course. AAFE's published starting price is $1,797 per course. AAFE sells multi-course packages and Empire sells multi-course bundles, so compare the totals for the number of courses you plan to take.

Do AAFE and Empire Medical Training require a contract?

Neither site states a minimum term, and neither publishes a month-to-month plan. What differs is refunds: AAFE allows refund requests within 30 days of registration if you have not started the on-demand coursework and have not selected a live course date, minus a $997 cancellation fee. Empire allows a full refund only within 24 hours of purchase, after which sales are final.

What happens if I need to reschedule a course?

AAFE charges a $299 per course rescheduling fee if you reschedule within 10 days of the course date. Empire charges a $200 rescheduling fee for transfers less than 15 days before a workshop, subject to availability.

Do either offer payment plans?

Both publish them. AAFE offers payment plans on multi-course training packages for qualified participants. Empire offers payment plans for all memberships and most bundles. Neither site states the length or cost of the plans.