Training & Certification · updated Oct 5, 2026

American Academy of Aesthetic Medicine (AAAM) vs American Association of Aesthetic Medicine and Surgery (AAAMS)

Both columns come from each company's own website. "Not published" means we could not find it there.

American Academy of Aesthetic Medicine (AAAM)
American Association of Aesthetic Medicine and Surgery (AAAMS)
Score2.7/5 (10 of 19 checks)2.7/5 (10 of 19 checks)
What it isCertificate and diploma courses in aesthetic medicine for physicians and dentistsOnline, virtual and hands-on aesthetic injector certification courses from a Los Angeles base
Starting price$2,700 per course (member fee)$200 per course
How it chargesPer course, with member and non-member feesPer course
Setup feeNot publishedNot published
Extra costs$250 administration charge on cancellations before the deadlineNot published
Minimum termNot publishedNot published
CancellationCancel before the course's stated deadline for a refund less a $250 administration charge, or transfer credit to another event with no fee; nothing after the deadline or for no-showsNo refunds once a class is paid for; transfer to another date with 4 weeks notice
Free trialNot publishedNot published
Free demo or auditNot publishedNot published
CoverageUnited States and international; courses in US cities and other countriesOnline and virtual courses, with in-person training in Los Angeles
Founded19992006
SupportPhone, WhatsApp, Email, Contact formPhone, Contact form
Support hoursMonday to Friday, 9:00 AM to 6:30 PM Pacific TimeNot published
Pricing transparency3.83.8
Terms and commitment1.71.7
Med spa fit2.52.5
Proof and track record2.02.0
Support and onboarding3.33.3

The short version

American Academy of Aesthetic Medicine (AAAM) sells multi-day certificate and diploma courses, a board examination and a yearly congress, with courses in US cities and other countries. American Association of Aesthetic Medicine and Surgery (AAAMS) sells online and virtual courses, with in-person training at its Los Angeles facility. Both price per course and publish a price for every listing. AAAM publishes support hours and a stated refund deadline; AAAMS publishes payment splitting and a one-year course access window. AAAM's eligibility wording names licensed physicians and dentists; AAAMS names physicians, nurses, physician assistants and dentists.

Pricing

AAAM publishes a member fee and a non-member fee for each of its three listings: USD 2,700 / USD 2,900 for the Level 1 Certificate Course in Aesthetic Medicine, USD 4,000 / USD 4,200 for the Level 2 Diploma Course, and USD 845 / USD 975 for the 22nd AAAM Congress. Its one published extra cost is a $250 administration charge, deducted from a registration cancelled before the deadline.

AAAMS publishes one price per course: $200 for Introduction to Aesthetics (3.5 hours) and for Introduction to Business of Aesthetics (3 hours), $650 each for BOTOX 101 (6.5 hours) and Dermal Fillers 101 (7 hours), and a $3,450 standard course fee for the Aesthetic Injector Certification Program. That program includes a 17-hour online course, hands-on training and 12 months of AAAMS Basic Associate Membership. Its site does not state extra costs.

Neither site states a setup fee.

Contract and cancellation

Both sell per course, and neither site states a minimum term.

AAAM's terms: a registration cancelled before the course's stated deadline is refunded minus the $250 administration charge, and the credit can be moved to another event with no fee. Full registration fees are forfeited after the deadline, and no-shows forfeit any refund or credit.

AAAMS's FAQ states there are no refunds once a class is paid for, and that it transfers attendees to a different hands-on date with 4 weeks notice. It also states that payments on higher-priced courses can be split, that there are no loans or scholarships, and that course access runs for one year from registration with an option to renew. AAAM's site does not state a financing option.

Built for med spas

Both teach injectables. AAAM's published topics are botulinum toxin, chemical peels, injectable fillers and lasers, plus a board certification exam in aesthetic medicine, and it sells membership alongside courses. AAAMS's list covers Botox and dermal filler certification, advanced facial aesthetics, liposuction training, a business-of-aesthetics course and a facial aesthetics mentorship, and its injector certification includes marketing materials and startup forms.

On support, AAAM publishes phone, WhatsApp, email and a contact form, with hours of Monday to Friday, 9:00 AM to 6:30 PM Pacific Time. AAAMS publishes a phone number and a contact form; its site does not state support hours.

Neither site names a client, states a case study result or lists a third-party review profile.

Which one to look at first

Look at AAAM first if you are a physician or dentist who wants in-person, multi-day courses with a stated refund deadline, a no-fee transfer to another event and published support hours.

Look at AAAMS first if you want to start with a short online course and add hands-on training later, or if you practice as a nurse or physician assistant.

Neither site publishes third-party reviews, so ask each for a past attendee you can speak to. See the rest of the field in training and certification.

Scores count what each vendor publishes, not how well it performs. How we score.

Questions and answers

Which is cheaper, AAAM or AAAMS?

AAAMS's published starting price is $200 per course: $200 for Introduction to Aesthetics, $200 for Introduction to Business of Aesthetics, $650 each for BOTOX 101 and Dermal Fillers 101, and a $3,450 standard course fee for the Aesthetic Injector Certification Program. AAAM's published starting price is USD 2,700 per course at the member rate for the Level 1 Certificate Course. Its three listings are USD 845 / USD 975 for the 22nd AAAM Congress, USD 2,700 / USD 2,900 for Level 1 and USD 4,000 / USD 4,200 for Level 2, at member and non-member rates. Both are one-time course fees.

Can I get a refund from AAAM or AAAMS?

AAAM refunds a registration cancelled before the course's stated deadline, minus a $250 administration charge, and the credit can be moved to another event with no fee. After the deadline, full registration fees are forfeited, and no-shows forfeit any refund or credit. AAAMS states there are no refunds once a class is paid for, and that it transfers attendees to a different hands-on date with 4 weeks notice.

Who can enrol with AAAM and AAAMS?

AAAM sells its courses to licensed physicians and dentists. AAAMS sells to physicians, nurses, physician assistants and dentists. If you practice under a license type you do not see named, ask the provider to confirm you qualify before you book.

Does AAAM or AAAMS offer payment plans?

AAAMS states that payments on higher-priced courses can be split, and that it offers no loans or scholarships. AAAM's site does not state a financing or payment-plan option.